Víkingur Ólafsson

Mozart & Contemporaries

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Mozart & Contemporaries Review

by James Manheim

Pianist Vikingur Ólafsson has been called the Icelandic Glenn Gould, as much for his temperament as for his playing, and many of his recordings have been innovative and even experimental. He has recorded adaptations of Bach with Icelandic electronic musicians, for example. Compared with such outings, an album called Mozart & Contemporaries may seem to be a return to convention, but a few minutes of sampling will reveal that it is not at all. Ólafsson assembles a unique program from exquisitely careful and detailed Mozart performances, sonatas by a pair of unusual contemporaries, and an ordering of the whole that brings the listener into a rarefied world. The largest work on the program is the Piano Sonata in C minor, K. 457, which the pianist likens to a three act opera, and convincingly delivers on his premise, but the smaller pieces are even better. Ólafsson offers two of the really wildly experimental works of Mozart's last years, the Adagio in B minor, K. 540, and the Kleine Gigue, K. 574; the latter piece in Ólafsson's hands has real strangeness. The Mozart contemporaries included are Haydn and two more that are not so commonly heard (although a hundred years ago they were among the few whose names would have been recognized), Domenico Cimarosa and Baldassare Galuppi. Cimarosa wrote 88 keyboard sonatas that are very rarely played, and the ones here reflect his background as an opera composer; the sense of drama is heightened by slight pianistic modifications from Ólafsson. He contributes these to the Mozart Piano Sonata in C major, K. 545, the "sonata facile," as well, and it may be that this is not an album for historical purists. It may also be that Ólafsson comes closer to the resonances this music would have had in its own time than a dozen more circumspect performances would have.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Piano Sonata No. 9 in F minor
1 Víkingur Ólafsson 02:06 Amazon
2 Víkingur Ólafsson 06:05 Amazon
3 Víkingur Ólafsson 03:26 Amazon
4 Víkingur Ólafsson 02:24 Amazon
5 Víkingur Ólafsson 05:47 Amazon
6 Víkingur Ólafsson 03:46 Amazon
7 Víkingur Ólafsson 02:44 Amazon
Piano Sonata in B minor, Hob.XVI:32
8 Víkingur Ólafsson 03:04 Amazon
9 Víkingur Ólafsson 02:41 Amazon
10 Víkingur Ólafsson 02:09 Amazon
11 Víkingur Ólafsson 01:40 Amazon
Piano Sonata No. 16 in C major, K. 545 "Sonata facile"
12 Víkingur Ólafsson 03:00 Amazon
13 Víkingur Ólafsson 04:00 Amazon
14 Víkingur Ólafsson 01:43 Amazon
String Quintet No. 3 in G minor, K. 516
15 Víkingur Ólafsson 08:04 Amazon
Piano Sonata No. 34 in C minor
16 Víkingur Ólafsson 03:07 Amazon
Piano Sonata No. 14 in C minor, K. 457
17 Víkingur Ólafsson 03:55 Amazon
18 Víkingur Ólafsson 08:12 Amazon
19 Víkingur Ólafsson 04:31 Amazon
20 Víkingur Ólafsson 07:34 Amazon
21 Víkingur Ólafsson 04:02 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick